Never Face a Criminal Charge Alone
Office: 954.463.0773
Cell: 954.383.3000 (24/7)

Drug Trafficking – Minimum Mandatory Sentences

Posted in Blog on March 20th, 2013

Drug Trafficking cases in Florida are very serious charges which all carry a minimum mandatory prison sentence.  A minimum mandatory sentence means that, if convicted, the Judge must sentence the person to no less than the minimum mandatory sentence.  This is true even for first time offenders.

When most people hear the term Drug Trafficking they have images in their mind of movies like Scarface or American Gangster.  In Florida, drug trafficking charge comes down to one very important factor… weight.   If you merely possessed a listed amount of a drug outlined in Florida Statute 893.135 then you may be charged with trafficking and face serious minimum mandatory sentences.  It is that simple.

Listed below are some of the more common drug trafficking minimum mandatory weights and penalties, see below:

Cannabis (the following represent “Trafficking in cannabis”, all of which are First Degree Felony Charges):

Charge

Mandatory   Minimum Sentence

In excess of 25 but less than   2,000 pounds or 300 or ore cannabis plants

3   Years + $25,000 fine

2,000 pounds but less than 10,000   pounds or is 2,000 or more cannabis plants

7   Years + $50,000 fine

10,000 pounds or more or is 10,000   or more cannabis plants

15   Years + $200,000 fine

 

Cocaine (the following represent “Trafficking in cocaine”, all of which are First Degree Felony Charges):

Charge

Mandatory   Minimum Sentence

28 grams or more, but less than   200 grams

3   Years + $25,000 fine

200 grams or more, but less than   400 grams

7   Years + $100,000 fine

400 grams or more, but less than   150 kilograms

15   Years + $250,000 fine

 

Heroin (the following represent “Trafficking in heroin”, all of which are First Degree Felony Charges): [This includes Oxycodone, Hydrocodine, Morphine, Opium and Hydromorphone]

Charge

Mandatory   Minimum Sentence

4 grams or more, but less than 14   grams

3   Years + $50,000 fine

14 grams or more, but less than 28   grams

15   Years + $100,000 fine

28 grams or more, but less than 30   kilograms

25   Years + $500,000 fine