There are two types of crimes in Florida, Misdemeanor and Felony. They are then broken down into specific categories relating to the severity of time crime charged.
A felony is a crime that is punishable by more than one year in state prison. All felonies are presided over by circuit court judges. Felony offense are sentenced under Florida’s Criminal Punishment Code. There are several categories of Felony offenses.
In all Felony cases, a scoresheet is created by the prosecutor. The scoresheet is the way that the court determines the sentencing range for all felony criminal cases. The score sheet is controlled and codified under the Florida Criminal Punishment Code, but is better known as “The Scoresheet.” For more information, please read the article titled, “What is a scoresheet.”
Third Degree Felony
A Third Degree Felony is punishable by up to 5 years in Florida state prison and a $5,000.00 fine. Some examples of a Third degree felony are Battery on a Law Enforcement Officer, Possession of Cocaine, Aggravated Assault and etc.
Second Degree Felony
A Second Degree Felony is punishable by up to 15 years in Florida state prison and a $10,000.00 fine. Some examples of a Second degree felony are Aggravated Battery, Possession of a Firearm by a Convicted Felon and etc.
First Degree Felony
A First Degree Felony is punishable by up to 30 years in Florida state prison and a $10,000.00 fine. Some examples of a First degree felony are Trafficking in Cocaine, Home Invasion Robbery and etc.
A life felony is punishable by life in prison without the possibility of parole, or probation for the remainder of your life, and a $15,000 fine.
A capital felony is punishable by death or life in prison without the possibility of parole.
A misdemeanor is a crime that is punishable by up to 364 days in the county jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. A misdemeanor is prosecuted in county court unless the defendant is also charged with an accompanying felony offense.
Misdemeanors are categorized as either a first degree misdemeanor or a second degree misdemeanor.
First Degree Misdemeanor
A First Degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to 364 days in the county jail and a $1,000.00 fine. Some examples of First Degree misdemeanors are Possession of Cannabis, Battery, Resisting Arrest Without Violence and etc.
Second Degree Misdemeanor
A Second Degree Misdemeanor is punishable by up to 60 days in the county jail and a $500.00 fine. Some examples of a Second Degree Misdemeanor are Petit Theft under $100.00, No Valid Driver’s License and etc.
For more information on Florida’s Criminal Penalties call David J. Sobel directly at 954-383-3000.